To Enroll Cert IV in Aged Care is it Important to Have Cert III in Aged Courses?

One out of every five Australians will be of age 65 years or above within just a few decades from now. The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) reveals that the next decade will see a rapid increase. In such a scenario, millions of Senior Australians will need the care and support of qualified disability workers, aged care workers and community and personal care givers. Consequently, most institutions have come up to provide aged care courses in Australia. Most job seekers look out to pursue their career in the aged care industry. But, there remain many questions to be answered. One such FAQ is whether certificate III is required for enrolling for certificate IV.

Differences between the Two Certificates (Updated)

The Certificate III Aged Care (CHC30212) was the standard qualification required for working in aged care facility. Many employers preferred holders of this certificate as the course was nationally accredited. It was the entry level course for home and community workers and aged care assistants. But, this course was superseded in 2015 by the Certificate III in Individual Support (CHC33015)

Certificate in Aged Care is known as Certificate IV in Ageing Support. It was a step higher than Certificate III course. This course has been superseded in 2015 by Certificate IV in Aged Care and Certificate in Home and Community Care. This is the prevalent course pursued for advanced level of Aged Care Course.

It can be asserted that to enroll for Certificate IV in aged care, it is a pre-requisite for having certificate in aged care course.

Although both the courses qualify the learners to acquire the requisite skills and knowledge get jobs as aged care workers, several differences exist between them.

Certificate III in Individual Support enables students for entering in to the career of aged care in home as well as in community care facilities. The course emphasizes on person-centered support in residential setting or in community setting. The support may be required for ageing or for inability. However, students have the option of specializing in Disability or Ageing, depending upon the elective units they opt for.

Certificate IV in Ageing Support emphasizes on more advanced skills that are required for becoming an Aged Care Team Leader. Students can take up specialized tasks on managing and monitoring the work of other care assistants in residential, aged and community environment.


Similarities of Core modules

Both the courses cover the following core units

1: Supporting the wellbeing and independence

2: Working with diversified people

3: Recognizing the Healthy Body Systems

4: Following the prescribed safe work practices for the direct care of the clients

Differences of Core modules with Electives for Specialization

Certificate III in Individual Support

1: Providing Individualized Support (Core)

2: Communicating and Working in Health and Communicative Services (Core)

3: Working ethically and legally (Core)

4: Facilitating the empowerment of aged people (Elective)

5: Providing Support to people having Dementia (Elective)

6: Catering to personal needs support (Elective)

7: Contributing to the ongoing skill development with the use of strength-based approach (Elective)

8: Following the prescribed person-centered behavior support (Elective)

9: Supporting Participation in social and community inclusion (Elective)

10: Facilitating Empowerment of persons with disability (Elective)

11: Supporting relationship with the clients and their families (Elective)

12: Providing community and Home support services (Elective)

Certificate IV in Aging Support

Core modules

1: Facilitating the rights and Interests of the clients

2: Facilitating the empowerment of Elderly People

3: Coordinating the services for Elderly people

4: Implementing the Intervention for Elderly people

.5: Providing Support to people having Dementia

6: Facilitating Planning and Delivery of Individual Services

7: Meeting the Personal Support Needs

8: Supporting Relationship with the clients and their families

9: Managing ethical and legal compliance

10: Delivering Care Services by using a Palliative approach

11: Developing and Managing network and Collaborative Partnerships

In addition to the above, there are 53 more Elective modules for Individual support and 59 more Elective modules for Aging support. These are related to Health and Community, Logistics, Transport and Hospitality. With so many options available from the new qualification, students have vast career outcomes.

Course Duration

For Certificate III in Individual Support, the duration is 26 weeks which is equivalent to about 7 months. The same for the Certificate IV in Aging Support is 12 months.

Vocational Placement

For acquiring hand-on experience, both the courses require students to undergo the minimum of 120 hours of vocational placement work with a registered aged care facility.


Cert III may be preferred to gain experience within a shorter period and with less expenses. Certificate IV may be preferred to gain advanced skills in both Aged Care and Community & Home Care. It also helps to become Team Leader in Aged Care. In any case, it is not important to have Certificate III to enroll on Certificate IV in Aged Care Course